External Awards

Carl Duerksen Memorial Scholarship (Deadline May 31)

Applications are being accepted until May 31 for the Carl Duerksen Memorial Scholarship Award. The objective of the Award is to encourage and facilitate personal growth of a resident throughparticipation in a global humanitarian project located outside of Winnipeg. For more information, please see the document below:

Carl Duerksen Memorial Scholarship Call for Applications

The CMA Foundation COVID-19 Support for Medical Learners Bursary (Ongoing)

Funded by the CMA Foundation, the Bursary provides financial assistance to medical learners who have been impacted directly by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Bursary provides monetary assistance towards unexpected financial needs or expenses due specifically to COVID-19. A list of FAQs and the Application are attached below:
For more information please visit: http://umanitoba.ca/faculties/health_sciences/medicine/education/undergraduate/awards/awards_ugme.html

Update January 11 2021:

Effective immediately, the priority for the CMA Foundation COVID-19 Bursary will be to assist medical students and medical residents with expenses due to COVID-19 isolation resulting from infection or exposure.

The bursary will continue to accept applications for all other categories of needs related to COVID-19. However, such applications will be reviewed at the end of the 2020-2021 academic year with bursary provided only if funds remain. Funding for computer, tablet and other electronic equipment is considered low priority.

The CMA Foundation COVID-19 Bursary is provided by the CMA Foundation as a one-time bursary for the 2020-2021 academic year. The Max Rady College of Medicine has received over 250 separate applications from medical students and residents. Over 70% of available funding has been disbursed.

REAP Specialty Training Bursary for Physicians bound for rural British Columbia (Deadline June 30 2021)

Among other things, Rural Education Action Plan (REAP) supports the training needs of physicians in BC rural practice, and provides funding to medical specialty residents enrolled in a  Canadian specialty training programs who are bound for BC.  The objective of REAP is  to help increase the number physicians practicing in rural communities in British Columbia.  

REAP offers a Specialty Training Bursary to medical specialty residents enrolled in a Canadian Specialty Training Program.  Applicants must be in their final two years of residency and have been accepted to a position by a specialty department of a hospital in an RSA community in British Columbia upon completion of their residency program.  The bursary is $25,000/year to a maximum of two years.   There is a return of service agreement attached to this bursary of one year in an RSA community in British Columbia for every year of bursary funding.  Please note that Family Medicine Residents are not eligible to apply for this bursary.

The bursary application which contains an overview of the program can be found below.  The overview should answer most questions regarding the bursary, but if you have others, please contact the REAP office at REAPStudents@familymed.ubc.ca.  The bursary application deadline for the 2021/22 fiscal year is June 30, 2021.

REAP Bursary Overview and Application

Doctors Manitoba COVID-19 Education Rebate (Ongoing until June 30 2021)

If you are a resident who has a certificate of practice (full licensure) in Manitoba AND have received fee-for-service or alternatively funded income from MB Health in 2020, you may be eligible for the Doctors Manitoba Special Pandemic Education Rebate. To see if you qualify or to inquire about the program, please visit the Doctors Manitoba website: https://doctorsmanitoba.ca/rebate2020/